Evaluation

Characters: My characters final graphics are suitable for it’s purpose because they are looking exactly how I wanted them. There are a few parts that I would make differently if I had the skill and time. The eyes and the mouth don’t look that great because they don’t go around the sphere like I wanted it to, bus as long as it looks like a mouth then I am ok with how they look for now. I like the textures for the arms, legs and shoes. I found it difficult to make the gloves more rounded like on my concept art because the extrude tool didn’t have that option. I thought that the character final models looked worse then my concept art because it didn’t look right: the hands weren’t rounded like normal gloves, the eyes didn’t look as natural as I wanted and the mouth wasn’t really natural and good looking as well.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

Weapons: For my weapons I really liked how smooth you can get the edges when I was using spline modelling because it made it look a lot better then I thought it will. The weapons were in the right shape as I wanted it to be, but when I finished making the weapon AK-S  I originally wanted it to look like the AK47 but then I thought I should change it because I wanted something a bit different and simple, so I took of some parts that made it look weird and not right and called it the AK-S (S=Swift). The weapons were suitable graphics for my game because the textures are viable in my environment, the weapon shapes looked like they intended to be and they all are suitable size for my character. My final graphics look better then my concept art because the texturing looks like an actual gun unlike the drawings because they look like they have been panted with simple colours and not actual texturing.

Original Graphics Look

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

Concept art 

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

Collectables: My collectables were really simple to make because of how little detail it has, because it has not much detail on the original image. For my Medical kit it’s suitable for its purpose because if players go near the item they will be able to tell that it is a medical kit because it says first aid  on the the front and back  so the players will know that its a collectable item, and what it would do when you pick it up (it will also say Press E with a little finger pointing at the collectable, this is also the same thing with the ammo because they look similar and I want the players to be more aware of the surroundings not a collectable. The final look of the collectables look better then the originals because I changed the look of them to make it look more like a first aid kit, the ammo kit looks different because I didn’t have enough time to make it look more detailed. I quite like the textures on them because it looks more army like and especially since I made the text a orange colour for the ammo like they normally have and for the first aid I made it white.

Original Graphics Look

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

Concept Art

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

Environment: The environment is suitable for its purpose because the game objective is to destroy the other teams base, and in the environment it has a base, a defense around the base which you will have to destroy the defense first before you get to the base. The enemy will not be able to walk in the base until they take control of the part, iv’e shown that by making the gate’s the colour of the team and transparent so they know that they can walk through it. The textures are also good and fit well into the environment, the wall texture for the defense i made it look like sandy bricks so it can look natural with the surroundings and the landscape texture. The final graphics look a lot better then the sketches because i am not good at drawing but it looked the way imagined it looked when I was drawing the environment.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

Concept Art

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

Technical qualities: I made My environment by using things like Boole tools, Extrude inner and outer extrude. I didn’t use matrix extrude because my models didn’t have any weird shapes like they did on trees because there are no trees in my desert. I mainly used primitive shapes because these buildings are basic shapes and not complicated ad that is why i didn’t use spline modelling and also because i didn’t know how to use spline modelling when i was making my environment. I mainly used spline modelling for my weapons and characters because it was a lot easier to make an odd shape.

 

 

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑

